Geography 353 Cartography and Visualization


...to Geog 353 Main Page and Course Description
...to Geog 353 Syllabus
Geog 353 Course Schedule (and Lecture Outlines)
...to Geog 353 Laboratory Information

Last Update: 11/20/15

The online schedule is the real schedule in Geography 353. Please watch for updates to the course schedule.

Lecture outlines, which can be accessed by delicately clicking on the lecture name in the schedule below, will be revised prior to lecture. Each lecture outline has the date of last revision at the top of the outline. I will do my best to finalize all revisions and updates to the lecture outlines a week before lecture.

Readings for each week should be promptly completed by the first meeting of that week. KW refers to the Krygier/Wood Making Maps 2nd ed. text.


Week 1

Week 1 Readings: KW Introduction (pp. i-xviii) & ch 1 (How to Make a Map)

Mon. August 24: How to Make a Map
Wed. August 26: What is a Map?


Week 2

Week 2 Readings: KW ch. 2 (What's Your Map For?) & ch. 3 (Mappable Data) & ch. 4 (Map Making Tools)

Mon. August 31: What's Your Map For? & Mappable Data & Explanation of Lab 1: Mappable Data
Assign: Lab 1: Mappable Data
Wed. September 2: Map Making Tools and Explanation of Lab 2: HTML & Map Mashups
Due: Lab 1
Assign: Lab 2: HTML & Map Mashups

Week 3

Mon. September 7: No class meeting

Wed. September 9: Additional explanation of Lab 2

Due: Progress on Lab 2 (HTML)

Week 4

Mon. September 14: In class work on and help with Lab 2

Wed. September 16: In class work on and help with Lab 2 & Explanation of Lab 3: Data Processing 1

Due: Preliminary Demo of HTML, Blog, and Map Mashup for Lab 2
Assign: Lab 3: Data Processing 1

Week 5

Mon. September 21: Work on & help with Lab 3 & Explanation of Lab 4: Introduction to ArcGIS
Assign: Lab 4: Introduction to ArcGIS
Wed. September 23: Work on & help with Lab 2, 3, 4

Due: Lab 2 & 3

Week 6

Mon. September 28: Explanation of Lab 5: Data Processing 2
Due: Lab 4
Assign: Lab 5: Data Processing 2
Wed. September 30: Explanation of Lab 6: Mid-Project Evaluation
Assign: Lab 6: Mid-Project Evaluation

Week 7

Week 7 Readings: KW ch. 5 (Geographic Framework)

Mon. October 5: Geographic Framework

Due: Lab 5
Wed. October 7: Work on and help with Lab 6


Week 8

Mon. October 12: Work on and help with Lab 6

Due (5pm): Lab 6
Wed. October 14: No class meeting: Fall Break


Week 9

Week 9 Readings: KW ch. 8 (Map Generalization and Classification)

Mon. October 19: Map Generalization and Classification and Explanation of Lab 7: Data Classification and Mapping
Assign: Lab 7: Data Classification and Mapping
Wed. October 21: Work on Lab 7


Week 10

Week 10 Readings: KW ch. 6 (The Big Picture of Map Design) & ch. 7 (The Inner Workings of Map Design) & ch. 9 (Map Symbolization)

Mon. October 26: Map Design: Big Picture & Inner Workings

Due: Choropleth ("Graduated Color") map classification from Lab 7
Wed. October 29: Map Symbolization and work on and help with Lab 7


Week 11

Week 11 Readings: ch. 11 (Color on Maps)

Mon. November 2: Color on Maps and work on and help with Lab 7
Due: Lab 7
Wed. November 4: Assign and Explanation of Lab 8: Layouts & File Export
Assign: Lab 8: Layouts & File Export

Week 12

Week 12 Readings: KW ch. 10 (Words on Maps)

Mon. November 9: Words on Maps

Wed. November 11: Assign and Explanation of Lab 9: Cartographic Animation
Assign: Lab 9: Cartographic Animation

Week 13

Mon. November 16: Assign and Explanation of Lab 10: Final Project Evaluation
Assign: Lab 10: Final Project Evaluation
Wed. November 18: Work on stuff day


Week 14

Mon. November 23: No class meeting: Thanksgiving Break

Wed. November 25: No class meeting: Thanksgiving Break


Week 15

Mon. November 30: Bonus Presentation I: Making Making Maps (+ work on projects)

Due: Lab 8
Wed. December 2: Bonus Presentation II: Sound & Maps (+ work on projects)
Due: Lab 9

Week 16

Mon. December 7: Bonus Presentation III: unMaking Maps

Wed. December 9: Student Presentations of completed Lab Projects

Due: Lab Projects (on WWW, and digital copies)

Week 17: Finals
Lab 10: Final Project Evaluation Due: Tuesday December 15 at 11:43 am OR end of scheduled final exam time for course




E-mail: jbkrygier@owu.edu

...back to krygier top page.
...to krygier teaching page.

OWU Home
OWU Geology and Geography Home