Geography 353 Cartography and Visualization

...to Geog 353 Main Page and Course Description
...to Geog 353 Syllabus
...to Geog 353 Course Schedule and Lecture Outlines
Geog 353 Laboratory Information

Last Update: 7/30/14

The core of Geography 353 is the laboratory project: you will locate relevant data, clean up and process the data so it can be mapped in ArcGIS (GIS and mapping software), and design and produce a series of maps based on the data. You will be astounded that you end up knowing how to construct HTML pages, containing the project maps, which will be placed on the WWW. The WWW! Of all the damned things! A Fall 2013 date on a lab means the lab has been updated for the current semester.



Science Center & GIS Lab Access: Fall 2011

Science Center building open:

  • Mon - Fri 7am to 10pm
  • Sat 7am - 6pm
  • Sun 7:30am - Midnight

GIS Lab (Sci Ctr 207) door open:

  • Mon - Fri 7am -7pm

After Hours access: Students in Geography 353 & 490 have OWU ID card access to the Science Center via the west entrance (on the atrium level). Also, please request a code from Krygier to get after-hours access to the GIS lab.

The GIS Lab door is open 7am until 7pm, Monday-Friday.



Lab Exercises

Note: The following exercises will be revised prior to assignment.


Lab 1: Locating Mappable Data on the WWW

50 points
ASSIGNED: Wednesday September 3
DUE: Monday September 8

Lab 2: HTML & Map Mashups

100 points
ASSIGNED: Monday September 8
In-class demo of basics DUE: Wednesday September 17
DUE: Wednesday September 24, with in-class demo of refined HTML pages
Visual Guide to HTML: basics of HTML

Lab 3: Data Processing: Part 1

50 points
ASSIGNED: Monday September 22
DUE: Wednesday October 1

Lab 4: Introduction to ArcGIS

30 points
ASSIGNED: Monday September 29
DUE: Monday October 6

Lab 5: Linking data to Base Map, Data Processing Part 2

50 points
ASSIGNED: Wednesday October 1
DUE: Monday October 6

Lab 6: Mid-Project Evaluation

100 points
ASSIGNED: Wednesday October 8
DUE: Wednesday October 22

Lab 7: Data Classification and Mapping

100 points
ASSIGNED: Wednesday October 22
DUE: Monday October 27: Choropleth ("graduated color") classification
DUE: Wednesday November 5

Lab 8: Layouts and File Export

50 points
ASSIGNED: Monday November 10
DUE: Monday December 1

Lab 9: Cartographic Animation

50 points
ASSIGNED: Monday November 17
DUE: Wednesday December 3

Lab 10: Final Project Evaluation

100 points
ASSIGNED:Monday November 17
DUE: Google Doc (let me know when shared) or PDF or Word Doc to Krygier by Tuesday December 16 @ 11:43 am


Lab Project due with in-class Presentations Wednesday December 10


E-mail: jbkrygier@owu.edu

...back to krygier top page.
...to krygier teaching page.

OWU Home
OWU Geology and Geography Home